LOOK OUT PUBLISHING WORLD! WE'RE MASSING TOGETHER AND ARE ON OUR WAY!
 
WC HomeHomeWC BlogPortalCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
emilycross
The Boss of the Board
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 1170
Age : 30
Registration date : 2009-02-05

PostSubject: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Sun May 03, 2009 5:40 am

Ok so i was wondering around the internet and was looking for a suggestion generator where i could enter a author i like and get authors who are similar. The only thing i came across was this: http://www.literature-map.com/ where you enter a writers name and a map pops up with the author in the centre and other/similar writers scattered around the name. The closer they are to the authors name the most similar.

So in this thread i thought be cool if we picked an author and listed others which we think are similar and then list the generators list

Now e.g. in my mind authors similar to SM (which i've read) are Suzanne Collins, and Maria V Snyder, Melissa Marr. If you like Twilight i'd recommend them.

Now generator's list (starting with closest to SM name)

V C Andrews (never heard of?)

David Levithen (again never heard of)

P.C. Cast

Libba Bray

Melisa Marr

Maureen Johnson (never heard of)

Stephanie Myer (??)

Outer circle

Marianne Curley

Scott Westerfield

Tamara Pierce

EE Cummings

Shannon Hale

charlain Harris


(and theres a load more!!!) http://www.literature-map.com/stephenie+meyer.html

So what do you think of the generator?? I'm pretty impressed!!!

_________________
Trust me, Love is really a purple italien leather journal in disguise

100/25 = 5 per year
25/5 = 1 per year
5/1 = 1 per 5 years

My blog / My Website / MySpace / Book Bundle Blog /
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://thewriterschronicle.forumotion.net
Novel-Goddess
Editor of the Board
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 505
Age : 23
Location : Everywhere.
Job/hobbies : I write stuff.
Humor : My entire life is one of those "you had to be there" jokes.
Registration date : 2009-02-07

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Sun May 03, 2009 12:09 pm

Ack, you've never heard of Maureen Johnson?!?!? She ROCKS, and she's absolutely hilarious. I follow her on Twitter. That's where I got that monkey badge that's on my writing blog.

Anyway...

That generator thingy sounds cool. I'll have to check it out.

_________________
As the Plot Thickens / High on Life / The Delusional
I shall never grow up. Make believe is too much fun.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jenniferwhite.webs.com
emilycross
The Boss of the Board
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 1170
Age : 30
Registration date : 2009-02-05

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Sun May 03, 2009 3:34 pm

What sort of stuff does she write?

_________________
Trust me, Love is really a purple italien leather journal in disguise

100/25 = 5 per year
25/5 = 1 per year
5/1 = 1 per 5 years

My blog / My Website / MySpace / Book Bundle Blog /
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://thewriterschronicle.forumotion.net
Novel-Goddess
Editor of the Board
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 505
Age : 23
Location : Everywhere.
Job/hobbies : I write stuff.
Humor : My entire life is one of those "you had to be there" jokes.
Registration date : 2009-02-07

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Sun May 03, 2009 3:43 pm

YA. My favorite book by her is Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes -- I read it for book club one month and fell in love with it.
Here's a link to her site:
http://www.maureenjohnsonbooks.com/index1.html

_________________
As the Plot Thickens / High on Life / The Delusional
I shall never grow up. Make believe is too much fun.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jenniferwhite.webs.com
Bluepolarbear
March Competition Winner
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 162
Age : 35
Location : NY
Job/hobbies : Once Therapist, now SAHM.
Humor : Yes Please!
Registration date : 2009-02-06

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Sun May 03, 2009 5:57 pm

I really didn't like Libba Bray. Her main character just annoyed the heck out of me. She just seemed so...I don't know, naive maybe? Then on top of that some of the other stuff in the books were just bizarre. The first one was ok, then I couldn't even finish the second one.

P.C Cast was also one of those ones that annoyed me. The series was ok to start, but the main character just seemed to get more and more immature and I really don't like it when the writer addresses the reader. But that's my own thing.

I really recommend Cassandra Clare though! I love that series.

_________________

"What I like in a good author is not what he says but what he whispers."
Logan P. Smith

The Quill
Back to top Go down
View user profile
emilycross
The Boss of the Board
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 1170
Age : 30
Registration date : 2009-02-05

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Mon May 04, 2009 2:24 am

Oh yeah!! i'm getting book recommendations.

Blue - i felt the exact same way about LB - i couldn't get past the first chapter of her first book!

_________________
Trust me, Love is really a purple italien leather journal in disguise

100/25 = 5 per year
25/5 = 1 per year
5/1 = 1 per 5 years

My blog / My Website / MySpace / Book Bundle Blog /
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://thewriterschronicle.forumotion.net
*Moonlight_Mania*
Still typing first draft
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 203
Age : 23
Location : Skyway Avenue
Job/hobbies : Occupation: Student. Hobbies: Writing (duh), playing around with Photoshop, and singing.
Humor : Laughing at my spastic self
Registration date : 2009-04-15

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Mon May 04, 2009 11:20 am

Oh, I've heard of Melissa Marr. I think she wrote "Wicked Lovely," right? I wanted to read that novel...>_>
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://member.mibba.com/54014/
emilycross
The Boss of the Board
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 1170
Age : 30
Registration date : 2009-02-05

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Mon May 04, 2009 12:08 pm

Wicked lovely is actually alright - not amazing or anything but an enjoyable read, she wrote a sequel 'ink exchange'.

if your looking for a light read thats about faeries and that its good. i didn't particularly like the main character but i liked Seth and the other main female character (name escapes me) - winter girl?

_________________
Trust me, Love is really a purple italien leather journal in disguise

100/25 = 5 per year
25/5 = 1 per year
5/1 = 1 per 5 years

My blog / My Website / MySpace / Book Bundle Blog /
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://thewriterschronicle.forumotion.net
ReNu
Lois Lane has nothing on ReNu
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 382
Location : Between the pages of a good book
Job/hobbies : Working journalist, aspiring novelist, history buff, collector of vintage fountain pens and war medals.
Registration date : 2009-02-08

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Tue May 05, 2009 10:54 pm

How do you get the inner circle and outer circle lists? When I try, I just get a map with names, some close to the centre, others far away - no pattern, just randomly placed.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://write-ideas14.blogspot.com/
emilycross
The Boss of the Board
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 1170
Age : 30
Registration date : 2009-02-05

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Wed May 06, 2009 2:19 am

oh thats what i get ReNu, i just try and imagine a circle circling the ones clsoer to the writer - sorry should have made that clear Embarassed

_________________
Trust me, Love is really a purple italien leather journal in disguise

100/25 = 5 per year
25/5 = 1 per year
5/1 = 1 per 5 years

My blog / My Website / MySpace / Book Bundle Blog /
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://thewriterschronicle.forumotion.net
ReNu
Lois Lane has nothing on ReNu
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 382
Location : Between the pages of a good book
Job/hobbies : Working journalist, aspiring novelist, history buff, collector of vintage fountain pens and war medals.
Registration date : 2009-02-08

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Wed May 06, 2009 12:30 pm

Embarassed I knew I was dumb.

Thanks Emily. I'm having a lot of fun entering all the authors I can think of. Weird, Susan Cooper is in L.M Montgomery's "circle". I need to read The Dark is Rising sequence again.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://write-ideas14.blogspot.com/
Lapillus
Informatio consuasor
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 125
Age : 30
Location : California
Registration date : 2009-02-19

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Sun Jun 28, 2009 10:53 am

I just read EVERMORE by Alyson Noel and I feel fairly confident that SM fans would love it. It's going to be a six book series called THE IMMORTALS with a three-book spin-off using a character in the first series. I think Alyson Noel is going to be huge.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://caseylmccormick.blogspot.com/
emilycross
The Boss of the Board
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 1170
Age : 30
Registration date : 2009-02-05

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:37 am

Thats so weird, i just added her to my basket on amazon before i read this post Laughing

Psychic or what!!

One really good thing is about HP and TW is that they've opened up YA fiction in huge ways! I loved fantasy when i was younger but none of the books seemed to suit what i wanted, now market is saturated with books which is brilliant!

Lapillus - i haven't read them but the morganville vampire books seem to get good ratings

_________________
Trust me, Love is really a purple italien leather journal in disguise

100/25 = 5 per year
25/5 = 1 per year
5/1 = 1 per 5 years

My blog / My Website / MySpace / Book Bundle Blog /
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://thewriterschronicle.forumotion.net
Lapillus
Informatio consuasor
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 125
Age : 30
Location : California
Registration date : 2009-02-19

PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   Sun Jun 28, 2009 12:17 pm

I haven't read them either, Emily! I'm actually not a big fan of vampires but I won't turn down a good book because of them. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://caseylmccormick.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***   

Back to top Go down
 
If you like ***, you'll LOVE ***
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» PARAMOURTAL: Tales of Undying Love and Loving The Undead
» Love Never Dies - all views allowed
» You know You Love Mai Hime And Mai Otome Too Much When...
» Aspects of Love
» [070000] Hyori - If In Love Like Them E01 [702M/avi]

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Writer's Chronicle :: The Library :: The Book Shelf-
Jump to: